Lifetime Achievement Award



This award is presented annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to contract management and NCMA. The Lifetime Achievement Award honors the memory of Charles A. Dana, Alvis D. Keen, and Herbert Roback for their service both to NCMA and the contract management profession. It is NCMA’s highest award.


  • Has worked in the contract management profession a minimum of twenty (20) years
  • Previous award winners of the Dana, Keen, Roback, or Lifetime Achievement award are not eligible;
  • Current NCMA National Board members are not eligible
  • Does not need to be a current NCMA member

Presentation and Award

The award will be presented at NCMA’s World Congress. Winners will be responsible for paying for any travel costs associated with receiving the award. If the award recipient is unable to attend, the NCMA staff will coordinate arrangements for suitable presentation. The recipient will be offered the opportunity to make acceptance remarks, limited to five (5) minutes. The winner will receive a plaque, a complimentary lifetime membership, and recognition in the Contract Management Magazine.

Nomination Process

The Lifetime Achievement Award Review Team shall consist of as many individuals as deemed necessary by the Executive Director.  The Review Team members will be sufficiently senior to have an understanding of the significance of the nominees’ contributions. Team members shall be selected consistent with the prestigious nature of the award.

The Review Team will identify potential nominees. Members interested in suggesting a nomination must do so no later than December 15.  Nominations from the general membership must include the nominee’s biography and be submitted via email to

The Review Team shall review all nominees against the eligibility criteria and selection criteria and narrow the slate to 4-5 candidates, or as deemed appropriate by the Review Team. If the Review Team is unable to agree on an award winner, the final decision will be made by the Review Team chair. The final decision will be made by February 15.

To preserve its status and meaning, only one award may be given in a program year.

Evaluation Criteria

Each nomination will be evaluated for exceptional and noteworthy contributions to NCMA and the contract management profession. Additional evaluation guidance includes: 

  • Worked in the contract management profession for a minimum of twenty (20) years
  • Significant contributions to the contract management profession
  • Extraordinatry reputation and record of achievement in the profession
  • Actions consistent with NCMA’s mission, vision, and values
  • Upholds NCMA’s Code of Ethics.