NCMA recognizes the outstanding efforts of members, leaders, and chapters. We’ve even awarded some non-members for extraordinary work.

Descriptions of the NCMA awards and nomination/application deadlines are listed below. Email or call 800-344-8096 with any questions.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is presented annually to a nationally renowned and distinguished NCMA member who has made a significant contribution to contract management and NCMA. It recognizes individuals with a remarkable reputation for professionalism and exception achievement in contract management. It is NCMA’s highest award.

  • Must be an NCMA member
  • Worked in the CM profession a minimum of 20 years
  • Previous award winners are not eligible (includes Dana, Keen, Roback winners)
  • Current NCMA National board members are not eligible

 The deadline to submit an application has passed.

Fellow Award

The Fellow designation recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of contracting and to NCMA. It is the second-highest award given by the Association. The first three Fellows (Stuart Davidson, Bert DuMars, and Sy Gottlieb) were approved by the Executive Council on January 9, 1967. Although the specific criteria have evolved over time, the broad categories of service required for selection as an NCMA Fellow have remained the same. (members-only)

 The deadline to submit an application has passed.


The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding NCMA Fellows, stimulate continuous contributions to NCMA and the contract management profession by Fellows, and recognize accomplishments at the Chapter and National levels.

There is no application or nomination form to complete. Nominations should be submitted by a Chapter president or an NCMA Fellow.  The deadline to submit an application has passed.

Elmer B. Staats Contracting Professional Excellence Award

The Procurement Round Table, in cooperation with the National Contract Management Association, will award $5,000, at the 2021 NCMA World Congress conference, to a federal acquisition professional who has contributed significantly to contracting operations or acquisition policy. Learn more.

Apply today. The deadline to apply is April 23, 2021.

Best Contract Management Magazine Article Award

This award recognizes the best articles published in NCMA’s Contract Management magazine for the past calendar year. It was established in 1971 by NCMA Life Member and Fellow Norman Singer to provide an added incentive to NCMA members to submit well-written, relevant articles for publication in Contract Management Magazine.

 The deadline to submit an application has passed.

Innovation in Contracting AWARD

The Innovation in Contracting Award recognizes successful applications of innovative or leading-edge contract management practices in ways not previously demonstrated to achieve a mission or organizational goals and results.

 The deadline to submit an application has passed.


This award is designed to recognize the most outstanding Chapters based on set criteria for determination.

The nomination period will begin in August 2021.

Outstanding Chapter Volunteer Award

This award recognizes NCMA Chapter members who demonstrate dedicated service to the NCMA community through volunteerism. 

The nomination period will begin in August 2021.

Advancing Professionals Award

This award recognizes rising stars and top performers coming into their own as leaders in contract management and in NCMA. 

The nomination period will begin in August 2021.

*Please email all applications to