Made up of Fellows award winners who provide ongoing support of our community and the profession.

NCMA Fellows

In July 1966, the Board of Directors established the category of a Fellow. A Fellow is an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of contracting and to NCMA. The first three Fellows—Stuart Davidson, Bert DuMars, and Sy Gottlieb—were approved by the executive council on January 9, 1967. Although the specific criteria have evolved over time, the broad categories of service required for selection as a Fellow have remained the same.

Fellows Charge:

  • Provide continuous support in a leadership role within NCMA and the contract management profession;
  • Participate as a member of the Council of Fellows and as an active member of your local chapter;
  • Contribute to efforts to enhance and expand the professional acceptance of membership and certification; and
  • Mentor and develop up-and-coming leaders.

All new Fellows become members of the Council of Fellows and are encouraged to be active participants. The activities of the Council may evolve over time, but its overall charter and mission are expected to remain essentially the same.

Charter and Mission of the Council of Fellows:

  • Direct resources for use by the Board President and President-Elect toward the realization of the association’s goals and objectives;
  • Offer opportunities to participate in and guide the association future direction; and
  • Cultivate a forum for roundtable discussions about issues affecting the contract management profession.

Application & Approval Process:

The Fellow designation recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of contracting and to NCMA. The following 10 evaluation factors determine eligibility for the Fellow Award. A candidate must possess a minimum of 20 points (out of a total of 40 points) to become an NCMA Fellow:

  • NCMA Membership (2 point maximum)
  • Academic and Professional Achievement (7 point maximum)
  • Work Experience in Contract Management (4 point maximum)
  • NCMA Service - Chapter Level (7 point maximum)
  • NCMA Service - National Level (5 point maximum)
  • Publications (4.5 point maximum)
  • Speaking (4.5 point maximum)
  • Volunteerism - Non-NCMA Events (1.5 point maximum)
  • Academic Support (2.5 point maximum)
  • National Awards and Recognition (2 point maximum)

NOTE: Prior to final submission to NCMA Headquarters, nominations should be submitted to the Chapter Fellow Chairperson or Chapter President of the candidate’s assigned chapter. Nominations must be signed by the Chapter Fellow Chairperson or Chapter President. (In the event the candidate currently holds one of these two positions, the nomination must then be signed by the other position.)

Nominations must be submitted to by December 1. All necessary documentation (to include copies of papers, certificates, diplomas, or transcripts) must be provided electronically in one integrated document.

want to become a fellow?

Join the Council of Fellows and continue your support of our community and the profession. Applications are due every December 1.

  • Download the new application today.

    Email the completed application to Your NCMA Chapter needs to verify and sign your application. Make sure you have adequate time to submit by the deadline.