Council of Fellows

Made up of Fellows award winners who provide ongoing support of our community and the profession.

NCMA Fellows

In July 1966, the Board of Directors established the category of a Fellow. A Fellow is an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of contracting and to NCMA. The first three Fellows—Stuart Davidson, Bert DuMars, and Sy Gottlieb—were approved by the executive council on January 9, 1967. Although the specific criteria have evolved over time, the broad categories of service required for selection as a Fellow have remained the same.

Fellows Charge

  • Provide continuous support in a leadership role within NCMA and the contract management profession;
  • Participate as a member of the Council of Fellows and as an active member of your local chapter;
  • Contribute to efforts to enhance and expand the professional acceptance of membership and certification; and
  • Mentor and develop up-and-coming leaders.

All new Fellows become members of the Council of Fellows and are encouraged to be active participants. The activities of the Council may evolve over time, but its overall charter and mission are expected to remain essentially the same.

Charter and Mission of the Council of Fellows

  • Direct resources for use by the Board President and President-Elect toward the realization of the association’s goals and objectives;
  • Offer opportunities to participate in and guide the association future direction; and
  • Cultivate a forum for roundtable discussions about issues affecting the contract management profession.

Application and Approval Process

The Fellow designation recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of contracting and to NCMA. Please direct any questions to [email protected].