NCMA has several awards to recognize many outstanding efforts of members, non-members, and chapters. Below is a brief description of these awards, nomination/application deadlines, and time of presentation. Any questions on these awards should be directed to Awards, 800/344-8096, ext. 1119, or


Recent Dana, Keen and Roback Award Winners

Quick Summary of all AwardsPDF format


Advancing Professionals Award
This award recognizes rising stars and top performers who will eventually be leaders in the contract management profession and in NCMA. Nominations are due June 1.

Best Contract Management Magazine Article Award
This award was established in 1971 by one of NCMA’s founders, Norman Singer, and celebrates the best articles written for NCMA’s Contract Management Magazine. Nominations are due January 31. 

Certification Support Award
This award recognizes organizations that encourage professional development and education through certification. Nominations are due January 31. 

Chapter Excellence Award
This award celebrates outstanding chapters that promote professionalism through NCMA. Nominations are due September 15. 

Contract Management Education Award
This award is designed to recognize colleges and universities whose contract management education exemplifies NCMA’s mission, vision, and value. Nominations are due by February 1. 

Elmer B. Staats Contracting Professional Excellence Award
This award from the Procurement Round Table recognizes a federal acquisition professional with extraordinary business leadership or team participation in the design, development, or execution of an acquisition program of project that futhers an agency's mission. 

Fellow Award
NCMA’s Fellow designation awards those who have made significant contributions to the field of contracting and NCMA. It is the second highest award given by the Association. Nominations are due by December 1. 

Innovation in Contracting Award
This award recognizes successful applications of innovative or leading edge contract management practices in ways not previously demonstrated to achieve mission or organizational goals and results. Nominations are due by February 15.

Lifetime Achievement Award
This is NCMA’s highest award. This award is presented to a nationally renowned and distinguished contracting professional who has made significant contributions to the profession and NCMA. It honors the memory of Charles A. Dana, Alvis D. Keen, and Herbert Roback for their service to NCMA and the contracting profession. Nominations are due December 1. 

Outstanding Chapter Volunteer Award
This award celebrates chapter volunteers who demonstrate dedicated service to NCMA and its members. Nominations are due July 31.

Outstanding Fellow Award
This is awarded to an NCMA Fellow who contributes significantly to NCMA at both the chapter and national levels. Nominations are due December 1.

President's Circle Club
The heart and soul of the association are our long-serving chapter leaders. NCMA honors this elite group by awarding them acceptance into the President’s Circle Club. This leader must be a current NCMA member and have held active membership for the past 10 consecutive years, and served in a chapter leadership position for at least six of the 10 years. Certificate may be presented yearly at Summer Chapter Leader Summit or a chapter meeting.

W. Gregor Macfarlan Excellence in Contract Management Research and Writing Award
This award recognizes scholarly research and writing in the contract management profession. It is named in honor of W. Gregor Macfarlan who served the contract management profession for more than 40 years as a researcher, author, mentor, and teacher. Nominations are due January 15.

NCMA Resources | Advertise | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Site Map | © 2012 National Contract Management Association