Industry Certification in Contract Management–Federal

What is the ICCM–F?

The Industry Certification in Contract Management – Federal (ICCM–F) is a certification awarded by the National Contract Management Association (NCMA) that parallels the Federal Acquisition Certification in Contracting (FAC–C). The formal education, experience, and specialized training required are the same for the ICCM–F and for FAC–C.  


What is the level of education required to become certified?

Depending on the level sought, a bachelors degree or at least 24 semester hours or a bachelors degree and at least 24 semester hours among these topic areas: accounting, business, contracts, economics, finance, industrial management, law, marketing, purchasing, quantitative methods, and organization and management. 


Who is eligible to apply for the ICCM–F certification?

The ICCM–F certifications are open to any qualified contracting professional who is not eligible for FAC–C due to current employment. 


Webster University students in the Government Contracting Certificate program and graduates thereof may be eligible for an important new professional certification. Many Federal employees have used Webster's DAU equivalent courses to meet the training requirements for the Federal Acquisition Certification in Contracting (FAC–C). FAC–C certification is not available to contracting professionals in the private sector.

Now for the first time, the National Contract Management Association (NCMA) is offering the Industry Certification in Contract Management-Federal (ICCM–F). The prerequisites and training requirements for the ICCM–F certification are exactly the same as the FAC–C certification. Anyone with a Bachelor’s Degree or 24 hours of select business courses and one year of Contracting/Procurement experience who has completed PROC Courses 5000, 5830, 5840, 5860, 5890 from January 2008 through June 2013 and has received a grade of B or better plus one approved elective course is eligible to apply for the ICCM–F Level I now. No further course work is required. Some graduates may also meet the requirements for ICCM–F Level II if they have completed PROC 5870, have a second year of contracting experience, and an additional two approved electives.

The FAC–C certification standards posted on the Federal Acquisition Institute (FAI) website on the date the application for ICCM–F certification is received by NCMA will be the standards used. Because FAI may change these standards at any time,  the Webster courses taken between January 2008 and June 2013 may have a limited time to be recognized for certification purposes. Interested individuals should contact: certification@ncmahq.org, Blake Boynton, 571-382-1137.

Discuss This Topic

Join discussion >>

NCMA Resources | Advertise | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Site Map | © 2012 National Contract Management Association